Administration‎ > ‎Departments‎ > ‎Communications Office‎ > ‎Newsroom‎ > ‎

District 60 Classified Staff Award nominee: Cleone Harder

posted Jun 18, 2020, 2:27 PM by Anthony Sandstrom

This week, Pueblo School District 60 is unveiling its nominees for the 2020 Classified Staff of the Year Awards. Thirteen outstanding classified staff in District 60 were nominated by parents and colleagues, and endorsed by their principals. The winners will be announced Tuesday, June 23.

Cleone Harder, Janitor, Corwin International Magnet School
Nominated by Marie Schwager and Jessica Weckx

From her nomination letter:
"In our many years of working in School District 60, we have NEVER seen such an amazing custodian as Cleone. She takes exceptional pride in her work and views her job as essential to the education of our students. We couldn't agree more!"

"Since Cleone is our night janitor she sees the students in the afternoon. Sometimes we are late leaving school because they all want to stop and talk with her. She is warm and friendly with the kids and has made lasting connections. After an especially messy day or activity, the students have taken it upon themselves to clean the room so that "Ms. Cleone doesn't have such a big job." It is a testament to her connection that 4th graders are thinking of their connection to her."

"During the latest pandemic situation, Cleone's poise and cooperation were on full display. She was ahead of the masses in recognizing the severity of the situation and helped to clean the building with grace and thoroughness. As teachers left the building in a sense of wonder and concern, we knew that we would be coming back to a thoroughly sanitized and safe environment because of Cleone."

Cleone Harder is one of 13 nominees in District 60 for a Classified Staff Award. Others include Dianne Carrillo (D60 Athletics), Valerie Gallegos (PAA), Pam Hough (Centennial), Heather Huffman (Central), Scott Marshall (D60 Custodial), Rochelle Medina (Corwin), Lydia Portillos (Franklin), Shay Robinson (Heritage), Chris Romero (D60 Maintenance), Tony Saiz (Carlile), Kathy Vail (D60 Admin), Amanda Vigil (PAA)