Administration‎ > ‎Departments‎ > ‎Communications Office‎ > ‎Newsroom‎ > ‎

District 60 Classified Staff Award nominee: Lydia Portillos

posted Jun 18, 2020, 2:48 PM by Anthony Sandstrom   [ updated Jun 18, 2020, 3:12 PM ]

This week, Pueblo School District 60 is unveiling its nominees for the 2020 Classified Staff of the Year Awards. Thirteen outstanding classified staff in District 60 were nominated by parents and colleagues, and endorsed by their principals. The winners will be announced Tuesday, June 23.

Lydia Portillos, Paraprofessional, Franklin School of Innovation
Nominated by Sheena Velasquez and Donna Klun

From her nomination letter:
"Lydia is an amazing role model for students and staff at Franklin. She is the most kind hearted, soft spoken, well mannered paraprofessional in our building. She is the epitome of a Franklin Bobcat. She is sweet to everyone she interacts with but yet is able to manage a group of students with ease."

"She works with students that have severe physical disabilities and are extremely medically fragile, and they absolutely love working with her. Lydia's ability to help students with their learning while still challenging their thinking is by far superior to the ability of many other Paraprofessionals."

"Lydia inspires students in their learning and social skills as well as their character abilities. Lydia's soft spoken grandmotherly presence immediately draws the attention of students she works with at Franklin School of Innovation. She explains things in such a way that students understand and empathize with what she is saying to the point that they remember the lessons she has taught them and reminisce about how she helped someone."

Lydia Portillos is one of 13 nominees in District 60 for a Classified Staff Award. Others include Dianne Carrillo (D60 Athletics), Valerie Gallegos (PAA), Cleone Harder (Corwin), Pam Hough (Centennial), Heather Huffman (Central), Scott Marshall (D60 Custodial), Rochelle Medina (Corwin), Shay Robinson (Heritage), Chris Romero (D60 Maintenance), Tony Saiz (Carlile), Kathy Vail (D60 Admin), Amanda Vigil (PAA)