Administration‎ > ‎Departments‎ > ‎Communications Office‎ > ‎Newsroom‎ > ‎

District 60 Classified Staff Awards nominee: Heather Huffman

posted Jun 18, 2020, 1:15 PM by Anthony Sandstrom   [ updated Jun 18, 2020, 3:22 PM ]

This week, Pueblo School District 60 is unveiling its nominees for the 2020 Classified Staff of the Year Awards. Thirteen outstanding classified staff in District 60 were nominated by parents and colleagues, and endorsed by their principals. The winners will be announced Tuesday, June 23.

Heather Huffman, Principal's Secretary, Central High School
Nominated by Morganlee Kempf and Kevin Buchanan

From her nomination letter:
"Heather works to inspire students year round by encouraging each student to be actively involved in school and district related events. She works hard to inspire students by setting them up as mentors, finding them mentees, supporting 8th Grade Night, coordinating and supporting letter and academic ceremonies, cheering them on during sporting events, recognizing them as STEM Learners, and more."

"Heather has the ability to make things seem effortless. This is considerably due to her deep understanding of customer service and systems. She has the ability to gather information to help things run fluidly."

"During the time of transitioning to a STEM school, there has been (and still is) a great deal of moving pieces to keep the STEM focus, including programming, instruction, and cultural enthusiasm.  With these many moving pieces, many dedicated hours of support from multiple people is required. Heather has been (and is) since inception of the grant an integral part of what STEM is, and what keeps STEM alive and thriving at CHS."

Heather Huffman is one of 13 nominees in District 60 for a Classified Staff Award. Others include Dianne Carrillo (D60 Athletics), Valerie Gallegos (PAA), Cleone Harder (Corwin), Pam Hough (Centennial), Scott Marshall (D60 Custodial), Rochelle Medina (Corwin), Lydia Portillos (Franklin), Shay Robinson (Heritage), Chris Romero (D60 Maintenance), Tony Saiz (Carlile), Kathy Vail (D60 Admin), Amanda Vigil (PAA)