Administration‎ > ‎Departments‎ > ‎Communications Office‎ > ‎Newsroom‎ > ‎

District 60 Classified Staff Awards nominee: Tony Saiz

posted Jun 18, 2020, 1:00 PM by Anthony Sandstrom   [ updated Jun 18, 2020, 3:25 PM ]

This week, Pueblo School District 60 is unveiling its nominees for the 2020 Classified Staff of the Year Awards. Thirteen outstanding classified staff in District 60 were nominated by parents and colleagues, and endorsed by their principals. The winners will be announced Tuesday, June 23.

Tony Saiz, Head Custodian, Carlile Elementary
Nominated by Terra Gray and Joie Aragon

From his nomination letter:
"Tony Saiz, or Mr. Tony as we affectionately know him, isn't just our head custodian, he is a key member of our Carlile team. Mr. Tony goes above and beyond in all he does. He arrives at school early and stays late when needed, never seeking recognition. He is always the first to offer help to staff and students alike. Carlile is his top priority."

"One of the inspiring characteristics about Mr. Tony is his ability to get to know our students each year, and he makes it a priority to greet and know each student by name. His interactions with the students during lunch time are amazing. He builds relationships with students, encourages them to complete their assignments, and inspires them to be the best they can be through conversations, while still continuing to collect lunch trays, dump the garbage, and clean continuously. Students ask to stay and help Mr. Tony clean the cafeteria instead of attend recess. That in itself shows how he inspires students!"

"Mr. Tony is a quiet leader. He never boasts or looks for recognition. He loves his job, our school, and most importantly, our students."

Tony Saiz is one of 13 nominees in District 60 for a Classified Staff Award. Others include Dianne Carrillo (D60 Athletics), Valerie Gallegos (PAA), Cleone Harder (Corwin), Pam Hough (Centennial), Heather Huffman (Central), Scott Marshall (D60 Custodial), Rochelle Medina (Corwin), Lydia Portillos (Franklin), Shay Robinson (Heritage), Chris Romero (D60 Maintenance), Kathy Vail (D60 Admin), Amanda Vigil (PAA)