Administration‎ > ‎Departments‎ > ‎Communications Office‎ > ‎Newsroom‎ > ‎

Two D60 students receive full-ride Hurliman scholarships, six honored district-wide

posted Apr 20, 2020, 9:59 AM by Anthony Sandstrom   [ updated Apr 20, 2020, 11:16 AM ]

Six Pueblo School District 60 students received the prestigious Hurliman Scholarship this month, headlined by two four-year, $25,000 annual scholarship recipients - Centennial's Maya Maes-Johnson and Central's Mollie Schloss.

Centennial's Joli Dou and Justin Shure, and South's Megan Hibler and Evelyn Wright received one-year $10,000 awards from the Hurliman Scholarship Foundation. 

Schloss will use her award to attend Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, La., where she will study English with a focus on Literature. Ultimately, she plans on earning her law degree. Schloss said being a Central Wildcat had afforded her the opportunity to achieve many notable accomplishments, including her founding of the "Branch Out" student club, which is focused on peer inclusivity and support for positive mental health.

"The Hurliman Scholarship was absolutely my dream scholarship as it would not only provide me with the funds I need to chase my dreams (at LSU) but it would also accept me into a wonderful foundation of scholars," Schloss said.

Maes-Johnson will use her Hurliman award to attend the Colorado School of Mines, where she will major in applied mathematics with a minor in biology. Passionate about education, Maes-Johnson's long-term goal is to help develop new kinds of computer science and math curriculum in the state of Colorado.

In high school, she said her experience on the Centennial speech and debate team, as well as drama club, helped shape her. Most of all, high school helped shape her passion for education.
"I also think high school has made me respect what teachers do so much more," Maes-Johnson said. "I definitely wouldn’t have gotten the Hurliman if it wasn’t for the countless mentors I’ve had throughout my high school experience."

For the four $10,000 scholarship recipients, their award will kick-start their college education.
Shure plans to study chemical engineering at Vanderbilt University, Dou will study data science at either MIT or Columbia University, Wright will pursue a Master's degree in accounting at the University of Northern Colorado, and Hibler will study applied mathematics and statistics at the Colorado School of Mines.

The Hurliman four-year college scholarship is open to Colorado residents who reside in one of three counties—Fremont, Custer or Pueblo. The applicant must be a high school senior who will attend an accredited U.S. college or university.

The Hurliman Scholarship Foundation is a non-profit corporation that awards financial assistance to students to further their education in an undergraduate program. The Foundation honors the memory of the late Jack C. Hurliman and his wife Edith E. Hurliman. They were long-time residents of Canon City, Colorado.